top of page


In the Vedas and many classics of Astrology and Ayurved ( Prasna Marga , Charak Samhita ) we can find descriptions of the methods of Vedic astrology as well as Ayurvedic healing. No one need be surprised at the relationship between the two. Ayurveda, as Vedic astrology, originates in the Vedic traditions.

तत्र भिषजा पृषनैवं चतुर्णामृक्सामयजुरथर्ववेदा नामात्मनोऽथर्ववेदे भक्तिरादेश्या वेदो…,

मंत्रादिपरिग्रहा चिकित्सां प्राह चिकित्सा चायुषो हितायोपदिश्य्ते सूत्र ३० श्लोक २१

Vaidyas are devoted to Atharva Veda, because it has dealt with the subject of Medicine. Prescribing donation, propitiatory rites, offerings, auspicious rites, oblations, observance of rules, expiations, fasting, incantations, etc.., and medicine for promotion of life.- Charak Samhita sutra 30-slok 21

वायुः पित्तं कफश्रोक्त शारीरोदोष संग्रहः चरक संहिता – सूत्र १ श्लोक ५७

—-The 3 Body doshas are : Vata, Pitta, and Kapha sutra 1 -slok 57

नित्याः प्राण भृतां देहे वातपित्तकफास्त्रयः

विकृताः प्रकृतिस्था वा तान बुभुतसेत पंडितः चरक संहिता – सूत्र १८ श्लोक ४८

—-Vata, Pitta and Kapha are eternally present in the body of living beings either as normal or abnormal. The wise person should know them. sutra 18 -slok 48

Similarly Prasna Marga describes — पित्तं वातकफौ पित्तं वात पित्तंकफाः कफः।

कफावातौ च वातश्च सुर्यादीनां प्रर्कीर्तिताः ॥ – Ch.11 Slok 4

—–The tridoshas are ruled by the seven planets thus: The Sun — pitta; Moon-vata and kapha; Mars — pitta; Mercury — vata, pitta and kapha; Jupiter — kapha ; Venus — kapha and vata; and Saturn — vata. Ch.11 slok- 4

अस्थि रक्तं च मज्जा त्वकवसा शुक्रं च वस्म्सा ।

एवं हि धातवः सप्त सुर्यादीनां प्रर्कीर्तिता ॥ Ch.11 Slok 3

Stanza 3. — The seven Dhatus, viz., asthi (bone), raktha (blood), majja (muscle), twak (skin), vasa (flesh), sukla (seminal fluid) and vasmasa (nervous material) are governed respectively by the Sun, the Moon, etc. Ch.11 slok- 3

Both ayurveda and Vedic astrology have their roots in the same Vedic tradition. 

This tradition forms a unit.

The various methods rooted in this tradition supplement each other and re- attuned to each other.

The panchamahabhootas- air, fire, water, earth and space gives rise to three fundamental bio-energies known as the tridoshas- vata, pitta and kapha.

As Ayurveda is based on the three constitutions, the three dosha’s, these three dosha’s are called vata, pitta and kapha. Vata corresponds to air, pitta to fire, and kapha to earth and water.

The astrological signs can then be divided as follows:

Vata : Gemini, Virgo, Libra, Capricorn and Aquarius. Virgo is placed here because it is ruled by Mercury, which is an air planet in Vedic astrology. Capricorn is mentioned here because it is ruled by the vata planet Saturn.

Pitta : Aries, Leo, Sagittarius and Scorpio. Scorpio is pitta because the classic ruler of Scorpio is the fire planet Mars.

Kapha : Taurus, Cancer, and Pisces. These are the earth and water signs not assigned to vata and pitta.

bottom of page